european unionmedical dictionary

The collective designation of three organizations with common membership: the european economic community (common market), the european coal and steel community, and the european atomic energy community (euratom). It was known as the european community until 1994. It is primarily an economic union with the principal objectives of free movement of goods, capital, and labour. Professional services, social, medical and paramedical, are subsumed under labour. The constituent countries are austria, belgium, denmark, finland, france, germany, greece, ireland, italy, luxembourg, netherlands, portugal, spain, sweden, and the united kingdom.

(12 Dec 1998)