<anatomy, ophthalmology> The transparent structure forming the anterior part of the fibrous tunic of the eye. It consists of five layers:

1. The anterior corneal epithelium, continuous with that of the conjunctiva.

2. The anterior limiting layer (Bowman's membrane).

3. The substantia propria or stroma.

4. The posterior limiting layer (Descemet's membrane).

5. The endothelium of the anterior chamber.

Synonyms: keratoderma.

Origin: L. Corneus = horny

(11 Mar 2008)

cor mobile, cormophyta, cormophyte, corn < Prev | Next > cornea farinata, corneal, corneal astigmatism

Bookmark with: icon icon icon icon iconword visualiser Go and visit our forums Community Forums